We Live in Cairo at American Repertory Theater

Friday, June 7, 2019 7:30pm
Saturday, June 8, 2019 2:00pm 7:30pm
Sunday, June 9, 2019 2:00pm
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 7:30pm
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 2:00pm 7:30pm
Thursday, June 13, 2019 7:30pm
Friday, June 14, 2019 7:30pm
Saturday, June 15, 2019 2:00pm 7:30pm
Sunday, June 16, 2019 2:00pm
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 7:30pm
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 7:30pm
Thursday, June 20, 2019 7:30pm
Friday, June 21, 2019 7:30pm
Saturday, June 22, 2019 2:00pm
Sunday, June 23, 2019 2:00pm

★★★★! Non-stop energy and spectacular visual effect. The cast is exemplary.

New York Stage Review

A smart, tight musical balancing nuanced relationships and grand, global ideas that could debut on Broadway tomorrow.

Boston Herald

Inspired by the young Egyptians who took to the streets in 2011 to overthrow President Hosni Mubarak, this world premiere musical follows six revolutionary students armed with laptops and cameras, guitars and spray cans as they come of age in contemporary Cairo. Winner of the Richard Rodgers Award for Musical Theater, We Live in Cairo moves from the jubilation of Tahrir Square through the tumultuous years that followed. As escalating division and violence lead to a military crackdown, the revolutionaries of Tahrir must confront the question of how—or even whether—to keep their dreams of change alive.

 

This production contains strobe, haze, simulated smoking, strong language, and graphic images that may disturb.

 

Associated Events

A.R.T., in collaboration with the Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation and the Belfer Center’s Middle East Initiative at Harvard Kennedy School, will co-present a series of post-show discussions with leading artists, journalists, and scholars on topics inspired by the show.

Learn More

 

Stories From the Arab Spring: An Evening of Storytelling and Conversation on June 17 will be an event inspired by similar live storytelling event, Palestinians, Live!, and A.R.T.’s current production, We Live in Cairo.

Phone:
617-547-8300
Cost:
$25 - $85
Location:
American Repertory Theater
Loeb Drama Center
64 Brattle Street
Cambridge, MA 02138